Announcing the 2022 Summer Concert and Film Series > City of Kannapolis

Discover Fun in Kannapolis returns this summer with an incredible lineup of great concerts, movies and of course fireworks. Events will take place from April to August. All events are free to the public.

The Village Park Saturday concert lineup this year includes legendary Air Supply, Don Felder, of the Eagles; The best of the mother; Everclear, Fastball and the Nixons; and country superstar Tracy Lawrence.

Additional opportunities to hear free live music concerts include: Thursdays on Main featuring beach music and the Sunday Music Series on the first and third Sundays will feature various performances from a variety of genres.

The Village Park family movie series returns on Fridays and a Spanish version of the movies will air on Sundays at the Atrium Health Ballpark.

Stories under the stars this year. Children’s books come to life with shows designed to entertain and delight children under 12.

Children 18 and under must be accompanied by a parent/guardian. You are welcome to bring your garden chairs. No pets or smoking please. Food and beverages will be sold during the events.

Jiggy with the Piggy Festival – NC Research Campus

Friday May 13: 7 p.m.
Sammy Kershaw (Part One – Red Dirt Revival)


Village Park Concerts: 7:00 p.m.

Saturday, June 4 Don Felder, Eagles

Saturday, June 25 Air supply

Friday July 1 Charlotte Symphony

Saturday July 16 Tracy Lawrence

Saturday July 23 Mother’s Finest

Saturday August 6 Everclear, Fastball & The Nixons

Thursdays on Main: 6:00 p.m. at Veterans Park

Thursday May 12 New Local

Thursday June 9 Gary Lowder & Smokin’ Hot

Thursday July 14 Jim Quick & Coastline

Thursday, August 11 Band of Oz

Thursday, September 8 Le ToneZ

Sunday Musical Series: 1 p.m. at Veterans Park

1st & 3rd Sundays; April – October


Sunday, April 17 ThreePoint O’s

Sunday May 1 Diane Durrett & Soul Suga

Sunday May 15 Side Step Deluxe

Sunday, June 5 Bakaloa Stars

Sunday June 19 Casear and Creole Soul

Sunday, July 3 UltimaNota

Sunday July 17 Crank Sinatra

Sunday, August 7 RenElvis

Sunday August 21 Phillip Howe

Sunday September 4 JMS Trio

Sunday, September 18 The Pioneers

Sunday October 2. Joseph Michael Mahfoud

Sunday, October 16 Carolina Gumbo Gumbo


Movies from the village park: 8:45 p.m.


Friday, May 20 Clifford the Big Red Dog

Friday, June 17 Sing 2

Friday July 8 Jungle Cruise

Friday, July 29 Encanto

Friday August 12 Avengers Endgame

Atrium Health Ballpark Movies (En Español): 6 p.m.


Sunday May 22 Clifford the Big Red Dog

Sunday, June 19 Sing 2

Sunday July 10 jungle cruise

Sunday July 31 Encanto

Sunday August 14 Avengers Endgame


Stories Under the Stars: 7:00 p.m. at Kannapolis Library (unless otherwise noted)


Saturday, April 23 Soap Bubble Circus – Downtown Kannapolis

Saturday, April 30 Gray Seal Puppets

Saturday May 21 Charlotte Ballet Dance A Story

Saturday, June 11 Rockstar Magic – Royal Oaks Elementary

Saturday, June 18 Sharon Clarke

Saturday July 30 Number Drummer – Kannapolis Middle School

Saturday, August 20 Yasu Theater




Other events in Kannapolis to enjoy in 2022 include the Cannon Ballers Kannapolis baseball games (www.milb.com/kannapolis) starting this weekend, the annual Fire Truck Parade, the Kannapolis 5K, Christmas events and more.


Kannapolis residents will receive a mail with all 2022 city events listed in their mailboxes in April. You can also download the calendar of events at www.kannapolisnc.gov or find it on the city’s Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Andrea G. Henderson